Random Nonsense

The Darker Half of the Year.

I am so unbelievably excited for tomorrow.  Tomorrow marks one of my very favorite days of the year – the Autumnal Equinox.  The transition toward colder days, early nights, and a little more magic everywhere you look.

Some people are all about Summertime, beaches, hot days, and long sun-lit evenings.  Not this girl! Give me Fall.  Or heck, even Winter.  Sure,  I get tired of the snow and cold eventually.  But I don’t find myself longing for warm weather like I long for the cold.  When I get tired of the cold, it’s more of a “Okay, I know it’s coming … Let’s just do this already!” attitude toward the warmer days of Summer.

When moving in to the colder months, I feel actual excitement.  I can’t stop thinking about colder days, candle-lit nights, glowing pumpkins, snow-covered evergreens, and spending my free time 20 feet up in my treestand.  I want to eat warm stews every night … and then snuggle up in a cozy sweater, with a warm blanket over my lap, and a good book in my hands.

I’m ready for Halloween, and Thanksgiving, and Christmas.  For changing leaves and falling snow.  Bring it on, nature! I’ve been waiting for this all year!

Of autumn’s wine, now drink your fill; the frost’s on the pumpkin, and snow’s on the hill.
The Old Farmer’s Almanac, 1993

Signature

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

